We’re trying to get in as much of Taiwan as possible before Kristen leaves. So, when she’s gone, these posts will probably get a bit… boring!

We took to the train Saturday morning and headed northeast to Tainan. This an old and historic city is known for its festivals, shrines and temples. We’ll remember it for great shopping, huge technology district, delicious Greek food, clean streets, sidewalks and fresh air!! It was so nice to see blue skies and sunshine! I wish I could have reached the clean air before this second sinus infection hit me. Oh, well!

Tainan is nowhere as big as Kaoshouing or Taipei, but looking that mannerisms and dress of the people, I’d say the difference between Tainan and Pingtung would be like the difference between San Francisco and Ft. Wayne.

We’d like to get back to Tainan before we leave, however, there are so many places to visit yet!

With a transfer in Kaoushoung, we took about 1.5 hours to get to our destination. I had book a room online at what turned out to be a very nice hotel (Hotel Dynasty) and I had one of my Teachers write a list of statements such as “I’d like to buy two tickets on the next train to Tainan” “Please take us to the Hotel Dynasty” and “Please take us to the jade market” in Mandarin so that we would be able to reach our destinations. People at the hotel spoke English quite well and were also able to help by arrange cab service for us. We saw quite few westerners in Tainan, but for some reason I don’t understand, few of them ever speak.

I requested western mattresses in the hotel, so we had a decent night’s sleep. This request meant that we didn’t want the typical Taiwanese mattress which is as thick as those we have in the US, but about as soft as this table top.

There are incredible blue lights all over this city. I first saw them at Snake Market in Taipei and have seen them since everywhere!! I think you can see them if you search for the photos I’ve posted of the exterior of the Dream Mall. I finally found some of them in Tainan and will be bringing them home for xMas next year!!

