Life here has gotten a bit quiet.  I’m getting used to a daily routine:  go to work, come home, clean, go find something for dinner.  Weekends can be time for just about anything.  It’s so monotonous, that there really doesn’t seem to be much to say on here.  It’s weird, though.  I feel like I’m on permanent vacation, but I have this responsibility of work and teaching and getting up early five days a week!  There’s no routine of nightly television that I’m used to, so not a lot to distinguish one day from another.  There is a difference in my class schedule, with four classes on some days and six on others.  But since I don’t know my student’s names (not unusual here) there’s no class that stands out, no class I look forward to or that I dread having to face.  For the most part, I plan and prepare for a lesson, do this fantastic tag team act with my co-teachers and class is over.  Then, the entire class bows and says “Thank you Teacher Campbell” and I get this mushy, guilty feeling wondering if I really did my best for them.  That bowing thing is really humbling!

I taught the 6th graders “Deck the Halls” for the music teacher.  I prepared a Powerpoint for them so they could see images to help them understand the old English phrases.  My first time using technology in class and as things work with technology, it was also the week the tech guys decided to come get my hard drive and give me some English software! (I was having a great time faking the students into thinking I was reading Chinese on the Powerpoint.  They don’t realize that I’ve pretty  much memorized where things are on Microsoft programs, and there are English initials behind the Mandarin script!)  So they took the drive and silly me, forgetting how this always works, actually thought my drive would be back the next morning.  HA HA

I was also projecting a little MySpace video to the 4th graders to teach them “5 Little Monkeys”.  Yes, I taught this song to 5th graders.  Hand gestures, video, singing…. the whole bit!  Ya shoulda been there!!

5th grade?  A lesson on asking questions.  I probably learned more than the fifth graders.  They eventually learned how to frame their own answers to questions, but I learned about framing what you want from students, particularly foreign language learners in a country where drill and repetition is the dominant teaching method.  Relax, go with the flow!

So, I wasn’t going to blog at all again today.  Then, I found this great library blog and read an old entry  that inspired me to see what I might be able to come up with.  I was going to write about our breakfast adventure this morning but instead, I was able to muster an interesting reflection on my week to share with anyone who takes the time to read this.  So, I’m wondering what was your day like?  What have you learned?

